How to Use the SEO ROI Calculator
To calculate your SEO return on investment you need to know a few things to determine the return you may be able to get. Our SEO ROI calculator is based on the following important business considerations:
Fill in the fields in orange to get outputs in green. Play around with the input fields to see how your revenue can improve by increasing your traffic, conversion rate, or average sale amount.
Monthly Search Volume
Monthly search volume is directly correlated to the amount of money you can make from SEO. To oversimplify, the more traffic you have, the more money you make.
For the most accurate data, pull a monthly view of Sessions from Google Analytics to populate this field. Or, put some realistic traffic goals in place to see how it effects your bottom line after you've inputted metrics into the other fields.
Conversion Rates of Products/Services
Conversion rates are indicated by percentages and have to do with the percentage of people that “convert” into a sale from your marketing efforts. If you are unsure what conversion rate to use, consider using between 2-4% (written as 0.02 – 0.04) as a starting point.
Average Sale Amount
Use the average sale amount of one of your products or services as a metric here. This average amount will be used to calculate how many multiples of that sale amount can be used to determine how much you can potentially make.
Amount You Pay for SEO
Finally, factor in how much you pay for SEO each month. When you combine how much you make with how much you pay in SEO costs, you can then see the potential monetization and SEO ROI.
Ready for Better SEO ROI?
Get exclusive content marketing tips only shared with email subscribers.