How to Use the SEO ROI Calculator
To calculate your SEO return on investment you really need to know a few things to determine the return you may be able to get. Our SEO ROI calculator is based on the following important business considerations:
Monthly Search Volume & Long-tail Traffic
Monthly search volume is an important metric because it shows how many people are searching for the product or service you are offering. If you don’t know the monthly search volume of the keyword you are seeking use a free tool like the Ubersuggest to find out.
According to Ahrefs, 60.67% of all “search demand” is generated by only 0.16% of the most popular keywords (with search volumes of 1,001 or more).
Which means that the other 39.33% belongs to the 99.84% of queries with one thousand or fewer searches per month—i.e., “long tail” keywords.
We use this metric to then showcase the potential traffic if you ranked 1st, 2nd, or 3rd.
Conversion Rates of Products/Services
Conversion rates are indicated by percentages and have to do with the percentage of people that “convert” into a sale from your marketing efforts. If you are unsure what conversion rate to use, consider using between 2-4% (written as 0.02 – 0.04) as a starting point.
Average Sale Amount
Use the average sale amount of one of your products or services you are considering doing SEO for as a metric here. This average amount will be used to calculate how many multiples of that sale amount can be used to determine how much you can potentially make.
Amount You Pay for SEO
Finally, factor in how much you pay for SEO each month. When you combine how much you make with how much you pay in SEO costs, you can then see the potential monetization and SEO ROI if you rank in the top three spots.
Ready for a Better SEO ROI?